Happy Birthday, Junior!

Our granddaughter moved in with us in August of last year. In early October, I was browsing Facebook and saw this picture, posted by my daughter (Chloe’s mom):

Dirty brown dog.

Dirty brown dog.

Since we had Chloe I was considering getting a dog, and after this brief exchangejunior-fb-post

I agreed to take him, and he joined us a few days later, on October 11.

Cori knew he had been abandoned and, when she opened her car door one day, he jumped in. He was brown when she got him, and she cleaned him up. He’s obviously a blue-heeler (Australian cattle dog), and so sweet and well-behaved I cannot imagine why anyone would abandon him. He was sleeping on a dirty mattress and living off the land. He did have a slightly outdated rabies tag, and when I called the clinic in Lampasas they told me it had been a walk-in rabies clinic and they had no other information. But the date was August, 2014, which leads me to believe he was born in early 2014.

When I took him to the vet soon after we got him, I learned he had heartworm. By then I was in love and, nearly $1,000’s worth of treatment later, he tested negative and was put on medicine. The doc told us you can’t be sure how much heart damage has been done and to keep him as quiet as possible for several months. Hah. He has been lively and active and seems very healthy. The vet guessed he was about two, so I arbitrarily set today as his birthday.

I’ve had some sweet and wonderful dogs in my life, but he’s the best:

  • He was perfectly house-trained.
  • He rarely barks.
  • He loves to play and be around other dogs.
  • When I take Chloe to school and pick her up, kids gather around him and pet him and he’s always calm and friendly.
  • He is affectionate and wonderful company. He loves visitors (he’s a terrible watchdog!) but if the noise level gets too much he retreats into a bedroom.
  • Because of him I get plenty of exercise (One day I had 16,000 steps on my phone!), and find dog-walking to be my meditation time.
  • He’s a warm nap companion, but when it’s both of us in bed he sleeps under the bed. (When Gary’s away he sleeps in the bed.)

Gary was out of town when I agreed to take Junior; when he came home I had an “oops” moment when I had to tell him it was a done deal. He was a little taken aback, but now he loves to play frisbee with Junior, and you ought to hear him cooing and baby-talking and belly-stroking. He even does clean-up!

Happy birthday to my sweet boy. Best doggie ever.

junior

junior-face

Who couldn’t love that sweet face?

 

junior-bday

 

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Happy Birthday, Junior!”

  1. Diane Huska says :

    I’d never heard the full story. I think a dog brings new meaning to the word family. Junior is a lucky fellow. Happy Birthday Junior.!

    d

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

ABSTRACT RECEPTION

"Explore The Possibilities"

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Contemporary Artist - Making your world a little brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

Sabiscuit's Catalog

I can't eat biscuits, but I have a better idea ...

Subterranean Atlas

The Art of Matt Schinner

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

