Unnecessary Losses

Debit card, driver’s license (twice), shopping list, wedding ring. What do these things have in common?

All have been lost in the past seven months, since my granny-parenting gig began, which has apparently affected some of my cognitive abilities, or at least my ability to focus.

I left the debit card at the grocery store, which, thank heavens, had it in their safe when I called the next day, with no unauthorized charges. I remember checking out that day with Chloe wanting to buy something frivolous (with her own money), then informing me she needed to go to the restroom as we checked out.

The driver’s license, which I lost the first time on a walk in the park near Chloe’s school, was returned to me by mail a few days later, but in the meantime I had gone to the DPS office and requested a new one. Probably for the best, because the old photo was at least 15 years old.

This was helpful when I lost it the second time, in line for primary voting, because the person who found it went through the line looking for the person in the picture.

I know exactly where the shopping list was lost: in the restroom at Spec’s liquor. It happened to be a very complicated list with many, many items, plus a $3 coupon for probiotics tucked into it. I wasn’t about to go back to Spec’s when I got to the grocery store, so I relied on the mere fact of having made out a list to shop by memory, managing to remember all but a few items (showing I do still have some brain cells). One forgotten item was a special kind of detangler someone had recommended for the granddaughter’s Rapunzel-like tresses, for which we made a special stop at CVS later.

This stuff is like gold so it had better work.

This stuff is like gold, so it had better work.

 

Guess it's worth it

Guess it’s worth it

 

The last straw (I hope) was misplacing my wedding ring. I was sure I took it off when I put hand cream on at bedtime, but it had vanished. So I took a nap, telling myself that when I got up I would go straight to it. And I did: it had fallen off the nightstand and was on the floor near the bedroom wall.

The gold band was my mother's. The emerald ring, which was lost, is my wedding ring.

The gold band was my mother’s. The emerald ring, which was misplaced, is my wedding ring.

I recommend naps for finding lost things, more focus for not losing them in the first place. Good thing for naps.

 

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Unnecessary Losses”

  1. Lindy Le Coq says :

    I always know I’m on overload when 1) I keep losing things, or 2) I drop things or bump into the edges around me — which can be a door jamb, or tripping and falling. That’s when it’s time to step back, take a deep breath and slow down — napping is a good suggestion!!! Hugs.

  2. wigginswordsandimages says :

    Yes, not just losing things but banging around and hitting all sorts of body parts.

Leave a Reply

ABSTRACT RECEPTION

"Explore The Possibilities"

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Contemporary Artist - Making your world a little brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

