Seeing Clearly Now

A challenge this school year has been Chloe’s resistance to read. She obviously can read quite well, but she never wanted to. One of her homework requirements is keeping a reading log, and it often remained blank.

Last weekend our condo complex had garage sales, and Chloe picked up a funky pair of wire-rimmed glasses. She put them on and remarked that she could see better. They were reading glasses. When we came home I downloaded a close-vision eye chart and found she couldn’t read even the first line!

We went to Walgreens and she picked out a proper pair of reading glasses, 1+ magnification. She loves them and is again happily reading. She told me she loved reading in second grade, so her eyes must have changed over the summer.

I nearly cried. She was so grateful she asked me how she can repay me–“Hugs? Kisses?” “No,” I said, just one thing: “Read.”

What amazes me is that nobody–not me, her teacher, the school counselor, the doctor–nobody considered she simply couldn’t see well. The school tested only distance vision, and she is far-sighted. She didn’t say anything because she figured this was normal. I remember when I was 13 and couldn’t see the board from the back row.  I realized I needed glasses when a classmate let me try hers.

She has an appointment for an eye exam next week to see if she needs prescription lenses.

Her ninth birthday flowers at church. She was so excited to wear her new reading glasses.

Her ninth birthday flowers at church. She was so excited to wear her new reading glasses.

Tags:

2 responses to “Seeing Clearly Now”

  1. Lindy Le Coq says :

    So glad for her! Bless you for seeing if she needs prescriptions lenses. I lived the first six years of my life legally blind, and my Dad was a teacher, and Mom a wonderful homemaker. I didn’t know it wasn’t ‘normal’ until the first day of first grade!!

  2. wigginswordsandimages says :

    It’s so interesting how many people have told me similar stories. You’d think parents, teachers, doctors et al would have wised up by now.

Leave a Reply

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Art - Making the world brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

Subterranean Atlas

The Art of Matt Schinner

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

Calvin Was Right

Explorations in Planners, Pens, Art and Other Obsessions

