What Gets You through the Day

The past seven or eight weeks have been among the hardest I’ve experienced in many years. As if adjusting to having a third-grader and all that entails in scheduling and stress isn’t enough, I had severe back problems for the second, third and fourth weeks of school, and ongoing allergy and sinus issues that often spoil my sleep.

I’d like to say we’re settling in. At least my back is better (thanks to excellent chiropractic care) and the sinus problems will resolve–I hope–after sinuplasty next month. But it will take more than six or eight weeks for the new parenting gig to feel natural and comfortable (if it ever does).

In the interest of putting on my own oxygen mask first, each day I do at least a couple of soul-feeding activities. These are the five I’ve found most helpful.*

  • Walking. After I take Chloe to school I walk around the nearby park and neighborhood in the beautiful morning autumn light. I call it my “detangler” because I start out in knots and end up having solved all my problems. Well, of course not really, but it does loosen a lot of mental tangles.

    Early morning sun hitting the trees in the leafy neighborhood where I walk.

    Early morning sun hitting the trees in the leafy neighborhood where I walk.

  • Painting. Some days I come home and head straight for the canvas, palette and brushes. Or not–sometimes I forgo brushes and slather paint straight onto the canvas with my hands. One piece now hangs in our bedroom, and a couple more are in progress.
    Painted (literally) by hand. "Harper's Creek," acrylic.

    Painted (literally) by hand. “Harper’s Creek,” acrylic.

    Works in progress, blurred out in Photoshop until they're finished.

    Works in progress, blurred out in Photoshop until they’re finished.

  • Journaling. Instead of pouring paint on canvas, I pour words on pages.
  • Swimming. When my back was so painful I couldn’t walk and while it stays warm in central Texas, the weightlessness of being in water always eases my spirit. And a hot tub soak afterwards is a lagniappe. I am so grateful for our beautiful condo pool and spa.

    My little corner of paradise

    My little corner of paradise

  • Knitting and needlework. If I don’t have time to knit a row while I’m waiting for Chloe to piddle around brushing teeth or hair, I can pick up embroidery and do a couple of stitches.

    Always read to pick up.

    Always ready.

I’d like to add reading. Sadly, by the time I get Chloe to sleep I’m usually too tired. I squeeze some in during the day because I can’t not read.

The current pile. I can only wish.

The current pile. I can only wish.

*I could add a sixth item, but it needs to be used judiciously or it’s a drag: a glass of wine with dinner. After helping with math homework, maybe two.

I do need to get up-to-date with pictures of the finished room and how things are really going in our new life. Next time.

Tags: ,

2 responses to “What Gets You through the Day”

  1. Lindy Le Coq says :

    * “And wine gladdens the heart of man.” Psalm 103 (104):15

  2. wigginswordsandimages says :

    So true, but you gotta stay awake!

Leave a Reply

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Art - Making the world brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

Subterranean Atlas

The Art of Matt Schinner

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

Calvin Was Right

Explorations in Planners, Pens, Art and Other Obsessions

