Jewelry Diversion

Instead of writing about our recent Florida trip*, I’m writing about jewelry. I love jewelry and have lots of it. I like it because I don’t have to try it on in a tiny room with ugly mirrors, and it lasts forever.

Two special items:

On New Year’s Eve, 2000, my husband and I were in a nasty traffic accident when a guy in a pickup ran a red light, totaling my car and sending us to the emergency room, where we greeted the new millennium on adjoining gurneys. Released in the wee hours of New Year’s Day, we had to wait hours for a taxi (in retrospect we should have called a friend or relative to pick us up). When I slid across the taxi seat, I found this pinky ring, and considered it a talisman of survival. It’s a trifle loose and I’ve lost it several times but it’s always turned up again.

Talisman

Talisman

Last November I lost it in my car while negotiating a twisty driveway. I knew it had to be in the car but could never find it, even after thorough vacuuming and searching through the vacuum bag. I had given it up for lost this time.

Getting into the car at a grocery store in Florida, I thought I must have lost an earring when I saw something metallic on the mat. I was flabbergasted when I picked it up. After all those months it was shaken loose from whatever crevice held it.

The main reason for the Florida trip was to see my sister Pat, my cousin Kay, and members of her family who were visiting my sister and brother-in-law from England.

Our grandmother came from Whitby, and I love visiting there, especially looking at the beautiful jet jewelry in the shops. Kay brought me this necklace, a sweet reminder of her, of Whitby, and of our Gran.

Jet is highly polished coal that was used for buttons, jewelry and the like before plastics were available. Queen Victoria made it fashionable, and it is the origin of the term "jet black."

Jet is hard fossilized stone that was used for buttons, jewelry and the like before plastics were available. Queen Victoria made it fashionable, and it is the origin of the term “jet black.”

Cousin, sister and the rest of the relative (I'm on far right end).

UK and US relatives. The three cousins, Kay, Pat and I are at the right front.

* The visit to the relatives was wonderful and we laughed a lot. I like to think someday I’ll also laugh about the rest of it, but for now I’m still trying to recover from the heat, humidity, mosquitoes, crowds, illness (severe sinus headaches) and Disney World with an eight-year-old. It falls into the category of “a supposedly fun thing I’ll never do again” (thank you, David Foster Wallace), or “what was I thinking?” or, simply, “just shoot me.”

Bittersweet end of day at Disney World.

Bittersweet end of day at Disney World.

Nature presented us with a goodbye gift as we left Disney World.

Nature presented us with a goodbye gift as we left Disney World.

OK, so I wrote about the trip after all.

Thanks to my sweet, patient husband for his trip planning, driving and generally being a good sport through it all.

Thanks to my sweet, patient husband for his trip planning, driving and generally being a good sport through it all.

 

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Art - Making the world brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

Subterranean Atlas

The Art of Matt Schinner

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

Calvin Was Right

Explorations in Planners, Pens, Art and Other Obsessions

