Goals at 70

The previous post was reflective. Now to look forward to what I hope will be an exciting and productive time.

I’d never imagine quoting someone involved with boxing, but I like this, from Steve Hanley, “C.E.O.” of Evander Holyfield’s team: “…there’s these overtones in society that refer to … the struggle. But we’re all about the glory, which is aspirationally looking forward, and doing the right things in the right way.” I can only hope. So here are my aspirations for the coming year(s), also in top 10 order:

10. Read. Keep up with periodicals and my never-ending book pile. Always have a small book of poetry or essays with me so I can read instead of diddling on my phone when I have a wait.

9. Knit and stitch. I have yarn, pattern and project stashes, as well several works in progress. It keeps my hands busy while watching TV, at meetings and on long trips (when not driving!).

8. Keep up with both my blogs. The other one has been a bit neglected, which leads me to

7. Continue with postcard art and other artistic work, which leads to

6. Plan a gallery show at church. At my birthday party, the gallery director asked to see my work, and we agreed on an exhibit for the fall. I have at least 30 pieces–acrylics, watercolors, drawings, sculpture and some postcards that I couldn’t bear to mail.

5. Continue to write poetry. Complete a book of dream poems that’s in progress, tentatively titled “Skating under the Aurora.” I also want to submit more poetry for publication. One of my poems will be published in the 2016 Texas Poetry Calendar, and I’m about to submit another to Postcard Poems and Prose.

4. Keep up with fitness and health. Up the intensity and reps in weight workouts, and add a little more cardio time. If I must get older I want to be as strong and healthy as possible.

3. Be a conscientious and effective member of the church Board of Trustees. Beginning in June, this will be my primary volunteer activity, and it’s important that I give it my best efforts to deepen an already deep commitment to my spiritual community. One other involvement, the Citizens Climate Lobby, will also get attention because the issue of climate change is so important.

2. Stay connected to friends, extended family and be the best wife and mom I can be.

1. This may be the biggest challenge I’ve faced since I became a parent. Granddaughter Chloe, 8 1/2, will be spending her weekdays with us so she can go to our nearby elementary school, eliminating a long bus ride to a relatively rural school. The challenge–in addition to the time and energy–will be to balance the “parental” role of supervising homework and bedtime against being the indulgent granny. I have several neighbors with children at that school, a willing “step-grandpa” and an excellent support system. I feel strongly it’s the best thing for her, which is why we’re doing it.

I’m optimistic.

I don't expect to kiss any more skeletons.

I don’t expect to kiss any more skulls.

After school activities will be no problem during warm months.

After school activities will be no problem during warm months.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

ABSTRACT RECEPTION

"Explore The Possibilities"

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Contemporary Artist - Making your world a little brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

