Top Ten at 70

My grandson turned 12 last week. I asked him how it felt to be 12. He said, “About the same as it felt to be 11.” I told him, “Just wait till you’re 13 or 14.”

It’s kind of the same for me. Yesterday I was 69. Today I’m 70, and I don’t feel different. But just wait till I’m—what?—78, 82, 90?

Since it’s the last week of the David Letterman show, I thought I’d do a Top Ten.

10. Living in a vibrant, interesting city. (I’ll leave the heat, humidity, traffic and allergies for another day.)

9.  Having enough: enough for necessities and a few luxuries, a comfortable, paid-for home, and the wherewithal for interesting travel now and then.

8.  Enjoying reading, music, theater and the other arts.

7.  Prozac. Plus the bennies of being an older woman: more grounded, centered, confident and able to cope with crisis and stress.

6.  Producing more art and doing more writing than ever before, with more projects in mind than I may ever get to.

5.  Being connected to several supportive and loving communities: good friends, neighbors, fellow poets and artists and fabulous Unitarian Universalists.

4. Parenting two beautiful daughters, a terrific son-in-law, and being in touch with extended family in Ohio, Florida, the U.K., France and New Zealand.

3. Grandchildren (they get their own category). I’ve heard that Thich Nhat Hanh calls the grandparent-grandchild relationship the purest love there is, but I haven’t been able to track down the quote.

2. Being married to a sweet, good, funny and talented man.

The Number-One best thing about being 70:

I’m strong and healthy with no serious problems. After a scare just over 10 years ago, every day is a miracle. A doctor once told me there is an old Muslim saying: “The secret to a long and happy life is to develop a chronic condition and take good care of it.” I have several. I do take care of them, and they are pretty well managed. I weigh less than I did at 20, and I’m much fitter.

I can’t know how many more of these good years I have—all the more reasons for extreme gratitude today.

 

A fraction of the girl I am today (about age 7). The giraffes were green.

A fraction of the girl I am today (about age 7). The giraffes were green.

Next: Goals.

Tags: , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Goals at 70 | Wiggins Words and Images - May 21, 2015

Leave a Reply

ABSTRACT RECEPTION

"Explore The Possibilities"

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Contemporary Artist - Making your world a little brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

