Looking in All the Wrong Places

My purse is my home away from home. (My “mobile” home?) And like a home it needs to be the right size, have the right number of spaces in the right place and be energy-efficient.

I’ve previously chronicled the seemingly lifelong quest for the perfect purse, so I won’t repeat that lament.

I’ve sought “purses” in accessories departments (obviously), luggage stores, craft stores (the totes might be suitable but they’re usually flowery), computer stores–in fact this one, a Liz Claiborne laptop case that I got half price (and it didn’t wear well) now stores my old laptop. But I hauled it around England as a purse/carry-on/snack bag.

 

Too big, too wide, too heavy.

Too big, too wide, too heavy.

Other failures:

Really nice, lots of pockets, but not big enough inside.

Really nice, lots of pockets, but not big enough inside.

 

Plenty big, no pockets.

Plenty big, no pockets.

Nice souvenir, big enough but too floppy.

Nice souvenir, big enough but too floppy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Finally, success!

The quest is over!

The quest is over!

Size: big but not too big; microfiber so it’s not too heavy and it’ll be easy to clean. It’s attractive.

Pockets: One large enough for both sunglasses and my tiny umbrella, so I’m good for all weather; its mate on the other end holds a large water bottle.

sunglasses

Front pockets include three small ones, one for my phone, one for wipes, tissues and other emergency supplies; one for notebook, pens, biz cards etc.

CAM01501

Other side a big pocket for a book or magazine.

CAM01502

Inside: Pockets for pills, phone charger and ear buds, meds, snack, sunscreen, hairbrush. Oh, and room for my wallet.

CAM01504

Wait, there’s more: what I call an “outrigger,” a small detachable bag for when I want to leave the purse behind and just take a few items.

CAM01503

Extra bonus: a small waterproof pad. I think I’ll leave it in the car for sitting on damp ground.

CAM01518

Can you guess where I got this miracle of design? A picture in a Target ad caught my eye. “Wow,” I thought. “That looks like it would work.” And it was on sale!

My husband calls it my baby bag. At least it’s not a Gerber brand diaper bag. I finally found the right department: Infants.

CAM01505

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Contemporary Artist - Making your world a little brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

Sabiscuit's Catalog

I can't eat biscuits, but I have a better idea ...

Subterranean Atlas

The Art of Matt Schinner

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

