Bound and Determined

Binders are toys for the obsessive compulsive.

Since I started my postcard obsession a year ago, I’ve been keeping scans of all the cards (well over 100 now!) in a binder, which was getting full. So off I went to Office Depot for a new binder. Thirty dollars later, a couple of new binders and some sleeve protectors in hand, I discovered the domino effect of updating.

Let’s see, the tatty old binder with my knitting patterns…. The manila envelope with my most-used recipes…. A huge red binder with all my poems. Then there was one with notes from a college drawing classes in purple ditto! (If you’re under 50 you have no idea how teachers made copies before Xerox made it easy. Correctly termed “spirit duplicators,” they used a waxy purple mat and alcohol, and the smell of fresh copies gave you a tiny high.)

About half a day after that trip down memory lane, here’s how it all turned out. CAM01483

Pretty new Jillybeans binder, plus poems and various writing notebooks

Pretty new Jillybeans binder, plus poems and various writing notebooks and books

Cards received, no longer  in a binder but held with a ring. Just need to find a nice place to display.

Cards received, no longer in a binder but held with a ring, but I need to find a nice place to hang them.

CAM01484

Shiny new polka dots for a new volunteer job I'm starting soon, and something nicer for knitting patters (the old one was duct-taped)

Shiny new polka dots for a new volunteer job I’m starting soon, and the ancient college “ditto” folder for knitting patterns (the old one was duct-taped)

The coup de grâce: since so many recipes are tiny clippings, labels and cards, I thought it would be nice to use the sheet protectors with little slots for postcards so I could find the small items easily and keep them neater. Clever, right? When I was finished, I discovered the binder was just a bit too wide and/or tall to fit into my cookbook cabinet. So it sits all by itself on top.

Neat little slots for the recipe scraps, which will someday be scanned, I swear!

Neat little slots for the recipe scraps, which will someday be scanned, I swear!

The door won't close

The door won’t close

New home

Will I remember to look up there when I’m in a hurry to find a favorite recipe?

Leftover, complete with the duct-taped folder and lots of dividers and sheet protectors for my next little OCD attack.

Leftovers, complete with the duct-taped folder and lots of dividers and sheet protectors for my next little OCD attack.

I have to wonder: if I’m really OCD, wouldn’t I have all my recipes scanned and organized by now? Yeah, that’ll happen, someday–after I finish three knitting and two needlework projects, publish my next book of poems, do 100 more postcards, refinish my desk and paint the quilt rack in our room to match the rest of the furniture. At least I have a list.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

ABSTRACT RECEPTION

"Explore The Possibilities"

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Contemporary Artist - Making your world a little brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

Sabiscuit's Catalog

I can't eat biscuits, but I have a better idea ...

Subterranean Atlas

The Art of Matt Schinner

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

