Sacred Spaces

What are your sacred spaces? In a recent sermon, the minister asked that question, so I got to thinking about the places that nourish my soul. Certainly churches, cathedrals and shrines can nurture the spirit, but my favorite places for peace and meditation are outdoors. As I mentioned in an earlier post, water in some form is a necessary feature, especially salt water. Here are some of my favorites, although there are many others.

Tell me about your sacred places.

My meditation altar, with a Buddha, photos, shells, incense and flowers.

My meditation altar, with a Buddha, photos, shells, incense and flowers.

Our condo pool and hot tub have provided many hours of sweet relaxation.

Our condo pool and hot tub have provided many hours of sweet relaxation.

McK falls

McKinney Falls State Park, about 15 minutes from our house.

The new boardwalk trail along Austin's Lady Bird Lake

The new boardwalk trail along Austin’s Lady Bird Lake

View from the trail.

View from the trail.

My "secret" meditation spot along the trail.

My “secret” meditation spot along the trail.

View from my special spot.

View from my special spot.

Visit my art blog at jillybeanswiggins.wordpress.com

 

My favorite beach shot, no makeup and all. Flagler Beach, Fl, 1995.

My favorite beach shot, no makeup and all. Flagler Beach, Fl, 1995.

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Sacred Spaces”

  1. notquiteold says :

    My special sacred place is lying on a comfy lounge chair on my patio – I like half in the shade and half out. Which half just depends. I always have a book but I usually fall asleep.

  2. wigginswordsandimages says :

    Nancy, you’re lucky. Our Texas patio has too many mosquitoes.

Leave a Reply

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Art - Making the world brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

Subterranean Atlas

The Art of Matt Schinner

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

Calvin Was Right

Explorations in Planners, Pens, Art and Other Obsessions

