Visiting the Fantasy Spa

 

panoramia.com

panoramia.com

Someone I know refers to being “stretcher tired.” You know, when you’re so bone-exhausted you wish someone would come along and take you away. I recently wrote: “Been doing the carrying for so long I just want to be carried for a little while.”

When I’m too tired to even go to sleep, I imagine I’m at a tropical spa (your dream may be an ice bath in Finland!). I rarely get past the first massage before I’m asleep:

Everything is prepaid, including tipping, so there is no worry about the bill.

Getting there is incredibly easy—I’m whisked from the airport to the site, luggage slipped away to my suite, check-in already done. “Just rest, take a soak or a walk,” I’m told. Snacks and chilled drinks are waiting in my room.

Spa inthereddesign

inthereddesign.com

After checking out the beautiful suite (where there is no wi-fi, TV or phone), I step out onto a veranda, past the pool and soaking tub, to a path that leads to a palm-ringed white-sand beach with crystal blue water, where I walk or swim.

When I return, light cocktails and chilled wine are served and quiet social time is observed before dinner, but no one is obligated to socialize and silence is respected. Meals are served buffet style and everything is light, fresh and beautiful. Joining a table with others or eating alone are equally attractive options.

All activities are optional and anyone who wishes to remain on her veranda and read, or just sit, is welcome to do so. Snacks and drinks are available at all times. Service is efficient and unobtrusive.

In the morning I do a yoga/stretching class, followed by a beautiful breakfast with fresh fruit, good breads, cereal and great coffee. Breakfast is available from 7 am till 10.

Next there are massages, classes, swimming, social time or walks on the beach. Lunch is served from 11 till 1:30 and all other qualities apply—delicious fresh food and chatting with others, or not.

In the afternoons I may nap, read or join a forest or waterfall hike. Swim, shower—no hurry, rush or worry. I just do as I feel like all day long.

Cocktails begin at 5:30, dinner from 6 till 7:30. Evening socializing is available—board or card games, conversation, or watching a movie. I usually read before bed.

Repeat six times, and I go home rested and ready once again for whatever comes my way.

 

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Visiting the Fantasy Spa”

  1. Linda says :

    Sounds wonderful!!!

Leave a Reply

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Contemporary Artist - Making your world a little brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

Sabiscuit's Catalog

I can't eat biscuits, but I have a better idea ...

Subterranean Atlas

The Art of Matt Schinner

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

