(W)hoop!

You never know when a new passion will enter your life.

A few weeks ago a visitor brought weighted hoops for my granddaughter to play with while we talked. We went outside and, as usual, I could keep the hoop going for six or eight turns before it fell. The visitor, who is so interested in hooping she takes lessons, told me her teacher suggested going the opposite direction.

I have always, always, turned to toward the left. It never occurred to me to go the other way, but what the heck, I gave it a try.

If it weren’t for needing to eat, rest, and go to the bathroom now and then, I’d probably still be out there with T’s hoop. Soon I bought a Gold’s Gym-brand foam padded weighted fitness hoop for about $20. (It comes in segments that you lock together–handy for traveling. I plan to take it on our upcoming beach trip.) Now I hoop away while watching TV or just contemplating what to do next. My gym has a hoop in the women’s exercise room, so I incorporate it into my workout, but I find it so relaxing and meditative I just pick it up for a few minutes many times throughout the day.

T  told me about “hoop church” at a Hot Mama’s Cafe in East Austin. I may go one of these days and join the hoop “cult.”

I took my waist measurement the other day to track if there is any loss of girth; regardless it has to be good for strengthening the core. Another thing I love is that apart from one piece of equipment and a couple of square meters of space, nothing special is required–no changing clothes or shoes or getting sweaty.

Near the spot where I had my hooping epiphany.

Airborne, near the spot where I had my hooping epiphany.

Tags: ,

2 responses to “(W)hoop!”

  1. Amanda Hatch says :

    I love this Jill. I am going to have to try.

  2. wigginswordsandimages says :

    Yay–we can hoop together!

Leave a Reply

ABSTRACT RECEPTION

"Explore The Possibilities"

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Contemporary Artist - Making your world a little brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

