Walking the Labyrinth

While at a women’s retreat in the Texas Hill Country last month, I had an opportunity to walk an outdoor labyrinth, a huge one based on Chartres cathedral‘s. I shared the first draft of the poem at the retreat, and after it was critiqued and revised, I laid it out on an image of the one at Chartres. Here is the shaped poem followed by the text, as well as a satellite image of the actual one I walked. (You’ll have to tilt your head–or your device.)

Labyrinth poem

 

Labyrinth, U bar U Ranch

I’m told there’s no wrong or right way,
but trying to find the way
by starlight and a sliver of moon
makes me stumble over rocks.

Confused and dizzy,
unable to stay on the path,
I give up, escape across the lines—
this has to be wrong!

In the morning, I see the pattern
among the natural rock outcrops.
I hesitate at times but stay on the path—
three-quarters of a mile each way.

It seems never to end,
but there is no end or destination,
only the journey in,
the journey out.

Pausing at the center,
I receive no profound revelation,
only a small letting go,
a lightening of the rocks I carried with me.

It's a faint circle to the left of the road.

It’s a faint circle to the left of the road.

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Contemporary Artist - Making your world a little brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

Sabiscuit's Catalog

I can't eat biscuits, but I have a better idea ...

Subterranean Atlas

The Art of Matt Schinner

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

