A Love Letter to Facebook

I am not a Facebook addict. I might go days without checking it.

Today is my birthday. As I lay drifting awake this morning (one of the best things about retirement–not being jangled awake), long before I found all the  birthday messages, I got to thinking about the interesting people I am connected to through Facebook.

Some are people with whom I’ve crossed paths and we would have gone our separate ways, possibly forgetting our encounters. There are former co-workers. Family members I don’t see often. This is my way of sending thanks to everyone for being my “friend,” and my friend.

First, the amazing creatives: writers, poets, artists, musicians, theater people, and those it’s hard to categorize because they are Renaissance men and women. Several incredible music and theater directors. Singers. Painters. Quilters. Jewelry makers. Gardeners. Teachers. Novelists. Journalists. Activists. Colleagues from my time on the board of the National Association of Government Communicators. My “Montevideo Posse” from the South American choir tour and other friends from Texas Choral Consort.

Next, former co-workers who I’d probably be out of touch with by now, going back to the 80s, a couple from my time at the Ag Department, and many from my last job at the Medical Board.

The gifted and generous community of poets, especially those I see twice monthly at our Writers’ League group.

Dozens of dear church and choir friends, many of whom I see every week, but it’s still fun to see what else they’re up to. Also dear and friendly neighbors in our little condo village, where we chat at the mailbox or visit by the pool.

Quite a few high school friends, and even one from my single year at Bowling Green–sweet connections to my past. One Ohio friend is the person I’ve known longer than anyone else one earth except for relatives–she was six months old and I was about six when we met.

Finally, and most important: family, especially my daughters (and some of their friends and in-laws), son-in-law, husband (although he’s not very active on FB), even ex-husband and his wife. New Zealand cousin and spouse; several generations of English cousins, nieces, grand-nieces, great-grand-nieces and a niece-in-law. Sure we can keep in touch by mail, email and phone, but FB makes frequent connection easier. Several close friends and family members are not on Facebook, and I wish they were.

Don’t tell Mark Zuckerberg. And I do wish Facebook would quit asking me who my favorite sports teams are. Sports? Really? Me?

It’s the time of year when prickly pear cactus blooms, and we saw a lot on our hike around Inks Lake today. So I share a golden flower and some lake views in gratitude for all the richness in my life through art, music, poetry, writing, friends and family. This is the best birthday E-VER.

Prickly pear bloom

Prickly pear bloom

Inks Lake fishing pier

Inks Lake fishing pier

Gary looking intrepid

Gary looking intrepid

View of Inks Lake

View of Inks Lake

Tags: , , ,

One response to “A Love Letter to Facebook”

  1. afsheenanjum says :

    Happy belated birthday 🙂 May You have a blessed long life , ameen

Leave a Reply

ABSTRACT RECEPTION

"Explore The Possibilities"

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Contemporary Artist - Making your world a little brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

