Easy Squeezy

During the January cleaning blitz, I found this:

The now "vintage" Juice-O-Mat

The now “vintage” Juice-O-Mat

My mother gave it to me years ago. I knew it worked but since it was old and a bit worn I tucked it away in a high cupboard. I don’t even know why I kept it, except it came from my mother. When I found it, I thought “old” might have become “vintage.” A check on eBay confirmed Juice-O-Mats are now among collectible items from the ’30s, going for around $30 on eBay. My daughter has an eBay business, so I was going to give it to her to sell.

My digestive problems are aggravated by too much fruit, so I don’t drink juice.  But we eat a lot of salads with dressings made with fresh lemon juice. I always squeezed either by hand or with a simple plastic reamer, neither of which was satisfactory. So I tried the Juice-O-Mat and told my daughter I’d changed my mind–it gets every drop of juice with no seeds, little effort, and easy cleaning. It now sits humbly on the kitchen counter next to the coffee pot.

I’ve often wondered when something old becomes vintage. I think the answer is “When it sells on eBay for a lot  more than its original retail price.”

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

ABSTRACT RECEPTION

"Explore The Possibilities"

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Contemporary Artist - Making your world a little brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

