Nappies, Dreams and Goldfish

It’s fitting that the British are known for both their stiff upper lips in the face of adversity (think World War II) and for their eccentricities (think Monty Python or Benny Hill).

In no particular order, here are some weird, odd or interesting encounters:

Bland, boiled British food is no more. Thirsting for margaritas, we ventured into a Mexican restaurant in Greenwich, told them we were from Texas and ordered margaritas and nachos. And they were good! The wait staff must have told the chef, who came out and chatted. Turned out he was Turkish. Cafe Sol:

Unintention tattoo match with the logo

My tattoo matches the logo

You can get good Indian food virtually everywhere, including St. Andrews, where we ate in a charming little place called Maisha. (The royal baby was born the day we were in St. Andrews, a sweet coincidence since that is where Will and Kate met.)

Maisha in St.  Andrews

Maisha in St. Andrews

Enjoying Maisha's interior

Enjoying Maisha’s interior

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We couldn’t resist a restaurant called “The Priest Hole” in Ambleside. (The story goes there was a secret passage connected to a nearby church for the priest to go in and out unnoticed.)

We enjoyed a summer lunch on this patio (photo from Priest Hole web site)

Nice summer lunch on the patio (photo from Priest Hole web site)

I could only get this shot from outside because they chased me out when I tried to take one inside the store (near Covent Garden and Seven Dials in London).

Naughty flamingos

Naughty flamingos

Lion sculpture within the walls of the Tower of London:

L2 Tower of London lions b and white

A business in London that seems to be a funeral home until you look closely and find it’s a bar:

L Happy funeral home bar

Putting the “fun” in funerals.

L Funeral home bar more

 

 

 

 

 

Classical head sculpture made of soap in the rest rooms at the Holburne Museum in Bath.

Most people were afraid to touch, but I scrubbed away.

Most people were afraid to touch, but I scrubbed away. (Photo: Bath Chronicle web site.)

Bicycle parking at the Cambridge railroad station:

Now where did I leave my Schwinn?

Now where did I leave my Schwinn?

Edward VII pillar box in Bowness

Edward VII pillar box in Bowness

I love English letterboxes, or pillar boxes (what we call mailboxes in the U.S.). Most have Queen Elizabeth’s insignia, “E R II,” and for a while I wondered if they updated them with each new monarch. But then I began to see them with “George VI,” “Edward VII,” and the prize, at Penrith train station (which sadly I forgot to shoot),  “V R.”

Library quirks: My BlackBerry (since replaced) quit connecting to WiFi, so we used public libraries to check email. Edinburgh issued a full membership (after inspecting our passports) to use their computers. Inverness gave temporary passes, but after wandering around looking for a public toilet, I finally asked, and was told to go to the nearby bus station, which required paying 20p. What an annoyance public pay toilets were, until I made sure I always had change in my pocket. I suppose it reduces vandalism, and it’s not the amount of money. It’s worse than annoying if you don’t have change.

Near the Edinburgh public library.

Near the Edinburgh public library.

On the subject of toilets, the loos in the train are pretty sophisticated. In one, after pushing the button to close the door, one hears a female voice: “Please do not flush litter, nappies, sanitary towels, gum, hopes, dreams or goldfish down the toilet.”

While we’re on the subject of fish, I loved these decorations on the Britannia, along with a decorative silver ship and a monkey.

Decorations on Royal Yacht Britannia

Decorations on Royal Yacht Britannia

I forget the story that explains this.

I forget the story that explains this.

A bakery in Edinburgh had fun with the cake.

Sacrilege or Scottish humor?

Sacrilege or Scottish humor?

Speaking of elephants (weren’t we?) Kings Cross Station had a whimsical display of decorated elephants, much like Chicago’s cows and Austin’s guitars.

1L Kings Cross elephant Jill 2 1L Kings Cross elephant 1 Jill 1L Kings Cross elephant, Gary

The one sign I would like to bring home (Gary wanted to buy me a t-shirt but I have too many t-shirts):

Mind the Gap

International cities like London and Edinburgh naturally attract extremes from fashionistas to freaks. Despite–or maybe because of–the warm weather in London, the tubes and parks and streets were full of eye-popping looks on young women, like cutoff jeans (Daisy Dukes) so short the pockets hung out the bottom, often with tights, and thighs a wise woman would not display. Same goes with the very short, pouffy skirts, a style that flatters nobody’s hips. And the shoes! Young women in obvious pain teetering through train stations on platforms and skyscraper heels, and me in my one pair (other than flip-flops) of go-everywhere Israeli shoes that never failed me, from theater in London and Bath to climbing a Lake District mountain.

Those dorky Israeli shoes took me from cities to mountaintops.

Those dorky Israeli shoes took me from cities to mountaintops.

Young men were much more attractive with their vests, pointy Italian shoes and sculpted, high-cut work-of-art hair. Also notable were gray-haired women emulating young punks with pink and purple tipped tresses. And hand-rolled cigarettes! I watched a woman roll one on the Tube, almost expecting her to light it right there.

 

 

 

 

Freaks abound, and I use the word deliberately: they would define themselves that way. This was the very best, on a wet Edinburgh evening.

Words fail me.

Words fail me.

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

ABSTRACT RECEPTION

"Explore The Possibilities"

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Contemporary Artist - Making your world a little brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

