Re-purse-posing

Sorry about the terrible pun.

This project came together by a confluence of my having a denim skirt bought at a thrift store for pennies–I never liked the fit–and my ongoing quest of the perfect purse.

I expected it to take about an afternoon, but since I was working without a pattern and trying to make the best use of the skirt’s features, it took about an afternoon and a half, with a lot of attempts at problem-solving going on in my head in between. It felt more like an engineering project than a sewing job.

The original skirt, inside-out as I tried to figure out what to do with it.

The original skirt, inside-out as I tried to figure out what to do with it.

I also made a lot of mistakes. I remind anyone attempting anything with pockets: attach pockets to flat pieces first. And consider the order in which they need to be attached. I had a pocket on top of a pocket and had to rip the first one off the bag in order to attach the second. The water bottle pocket gave me no end of mental difficulty, and I’m still not sure it’s going to work. I also wish I had done all the stitching in white. I didn’t have denim-blue or the goldish-orange denim is top-stitched with, so I started with black and ended up using white for the Velcro and finishing. The workmanship leaves a lot to be desired. The weight of the denim was also a problem: my cranky, ancient machine just didn’t want to stitch over those double-triple-quadruple-weight seams. I broke one sewing machine needle and bent two others. By some miracle I had a supply on hand.

Use the skirt zipper for an inside pocket

The skirt zipper is used for an inside pocket

Original label is a key loop in an outside pocket

Original label is a key loop in an outside pocket

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was definitely an experiment. I may try another, using better materials and the lessons I learned. All told, it cost the small amount for a skirt I didn’t wear, $1.50 for the Velcro, plus the broken/bent needles. Also some blood: a lot of pinpricks and a scissors cut.

Pockets for phone, sunglasses, water bottle

Pockets for phone, sunglasses, water bottle

Pockets for magazines, notebooks, tissues, pens

Pockets for magazines, notebooks, tissues, pens. The strap is an old belt cut in two.

Tags: , ,

One response to “Re-purse-posing”

  1. Christa Pandey says :

    You did “good,” making new and useful what was old and undesirable. Hope to see your creation on Monday.

Leave a Reply

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Art - Making the world brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

Subterranean Atlas

The Art of Matt Schinner

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

Calvin Was Right

Explorations in Planners, Pens, Art and Other Obsessions

