I’m not Giada De Laurentiis

I’ve written children’s books since my own children were little, about as long as Giada De Laurentiis has been alive. While she actually publishes cookbooks and children’s books, mine are still mostly in my head or sketched out as drafts.

I cook, sew, knit and crochet, paint, condo garden, sing in two choruses, take care of my granddaughter at least three times a week, and I have published poems and books of poetry.

I would love to garden like they do in Scotland!

I would love to garden like they do in Scotland!

I also do laundry, errands and grocery shopping, car washing and general household management. I’m still working my way through editing photos from this summer’s travels for printing and sharing. And did I mention three or four days a week with a turbo-charged nearly seven-year-old?

Yet Giada (if I may be familiar) is not unique. Celebrities from Madonna, Jamie Lee Curtis, Sarah, the Duchess of York, Jenna Bush, Bill Cosby, to name a few, have published children’s books.

It’s not just multi-talented celebrities who make me feel like a creative slouch. I follow several blogs–the Blue Brick and the Smallest Forest are two–in which these ladies create the most amazing work on a nearly daily basis in ceramics, paint, fabric, yarn, spinning, bound books, photography, while holding down jobs! (I’m retired.)

I’ll wager Giada doesn’t do laundry, but I don’t know about others who evidently sleep way less than I do. And/or their partners provide a lot of support. My husband is directing a play right now, so he gets my support in the form of a well-stocked fridge and clean underwear.

Our minister reminds us, when comparing ourselves to others, that we’re comparing our insides to their outsides. Maybe people who know me wonder how I manage all that I do, and I’m grateful that I’m never bored (or idle).

For my granddaughter’s November birthday my goal is to have at least a mock-up copy of a book I have drafted but still need to illustrate and design. I’m not saying which birthday.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

ABSTRACT RECEPTION

"Explore The Possibilities"

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Contemporary Artist - Making your world a little brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

