Seventh Summer: “The Birds”!

Chloe doesn’t know about Hitchcock’s movie, and I wasn’t about to tell her. Sunday morning she went out for a walk around the complex. When I went to look for her she disappeared around a corner near some trees. As I approached,she was stalking a small black bird, then suddenly the air exploded in a cloud of crows, flapping and shrieking around her. Terrified, she turned and ran straight into my arms, even though she had no idea I was standing there. She said she just wanted to touch a bird. I told her the mommies and daddies were just doing what all mommies and daddies do–protecting their baby. They never actually attacked, but I understand the collective term: “a murder of crows.”

When we were swimming Saturday, Chloe said to me: “I’m so happy I get to spend time with my family, especially my Gramma and half-Grandpa.” That’s the first time she’s given Gary an adult title. We tried “PapaGary” for a while but it was awkward and didn’t stick.

This weekend’s food activity was Play-Doh, starting with cupcakes but soon devolving into “multicolored” balls–she loved saying that word over and over. I thumbed through a magazine while she sculpted, until she asked me to stop, saying she “didn’t want distractions while cool things are happening.”

play doh multicolor

multicolored balls

cupcake

cupcake

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Things got more outrageous with a carnival game she and Gary played–tossing the balls into the assortment of ceramic pots on the hearth.

ammo

ammo

Gramma was not happy, suggesting dress-up instead.

Chloe in motion

Chloe in motion

Dressed up for dancing

Dressed up for dancing

 

 

Bedtime got a little rocky–10 books requested, four read, and as she was trying to settle down Chloe saying she was “bored.” I hope she learns to amuse herself in her own head before long.

After Sunday’s incident with the birds I told her to look in the play closet for something to do while I got ready for church. She brought out the makeup bin and Gary actually let her make him up (I refused because I didn’t want to have to scrub it off). He missed his breakfast getting cleaned up in time to leave. And the powder room lived up to its name–powder, blush, lipstick, eye shadow–everywhere.

After church we had lunch with a young family I am mentoring. Chloe and their little boy played in Central Market‘s playground while the adults talked. Chloe is in love with the mom, and I want Chloe’s mom to meet her.

I got home to no air conditioning (we had a power outage Friday night, which apparently zapped the thermostat), so I did a quick cleanup and went off to two events, a fund-raiser for Texas Choral Consort, and the after-show party for Paradox Players.

The AC is working. I love Mondays.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Art - Making the world brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

Subterranean Atlas

The Art of Matt Schinner

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

Calvin Was Right

Explorations in Planners, Pens, Art and Other Obsessions

