Seventh Summer, Day 4

Once again, I miscalculated. We had a mostly great day, stopping at the grocery store for ingredients for our favorite meal (every kid’s favorite meal, but Gramma’s is special) macaroni and cheese. We also got a few more items for the test kitchen, and Chloe made some interesting concoctions:

Cherry tarts

Cherry tarts

Recipe:
Sand
Shaving Cream
Jello (for color–it’s cheaper than food coloring)
maraschino cherries (these are real–a jar had been in the pantry so long I donated them to the cause)

With the Jello and shaving cream, the yard smells really nice.

She also used bark from the crape myrtle for “cinnamon bark” and made a “tiger.”

The tiger cake

The tiger cake

While I watched, a spider dropped down in front of me and danced around on its silk thread. I told Chloe I felt like Miss Muffet. She said it reminded her of the dancers in the Sky Candy show we saw last year. I was amazed she remembered.

We had a nice afternoon swim. After dinner, while we took a walk, a neighbor came out to the pool and Chloe asked if she could swim again. I said ok, for just half an hour. Of course a half hour became 45 minutes and by then it was 7:45, and getting her out of the pool, dry, dressed and home was an ordeal. When I got her home I told her mom she needed to go straight to bed.

If you wonder why I’m blogging in such detail about the summer with Chloe, there are a couple of reasons:

  • When I know I’m going to write about something I am more mindful and pay better attention to little details. It’s like when I listen to a sermon or a talk I’m going to have to summarize for someone else I make better mental notes. When I first started taking care of Chloe, I took a lot of notes that I intended to write up as “My Chloe Year.” But I wasn’t blogging then so they still sit on my computer as raw notes.
  • It allows me to take pictures and notes while I’m with her, although the ruse is that I’m a “photojournalist” doing a piece on the world’s greatest chef. She often decrees “no phones,” and I usually shoot pictures with the phone, so I use the “news” angle to allow me to have the phone. But I am glad young children complain about grownups’ constantly having their faces stuck on their phones, so once I’m done shooting I put it away.
The world's greatest chef at work

The world’s greatest chef at work

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Art - Making the world brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

Subterranean Atlas

The Art of Matt Schinner

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

Calvin Was Right

Explorations in Planners, Pens, Art and Other Obsessions

