Seventh Summer, Days 2-3

Maybe summer will go quickly after all. This 24-hour period was so different from last time it’s like I was visited by a different child.

clean table 2

Courtyard after cleaning up the "potions" mess

Courtyard after cleanup of the "potions"

Courtyard after cleanup of the “potions”

In order to avoid the constant cleanup of the sand and soapy mess but still allow Chloe to play, we stopped at Home Depot and got clean sand and materials to build her a “test kitchen/lab/restaurant.” Using shelving already on hand, the whole setup cost about $15.

Chloe in her new "lab/test kitchen"

Chloe in her new “lab/test kitchen”

 

The "lab," which I didn't have to clean up afterwards

The “lab,” which I didn’t have to clean up afterwards

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This kept her engrossed through much of the afternoon, and we didn’t get to the pool till about 4:30. It being Saturday, there were neighbors there (during the week it’s our private condo pool), which makes it much more pleasant. Just outside the pool area, a neighbor had the cutest puppy I’ve ever seen, so Chloe had fun playing with him.

I had told Chloe we’d do something for her new Daddy for Father’s Day. While cleaning out the toiletries for the “potions” I had found some paraffin left over from one of those appliances that uses hot wax as therapy for sore joints or something (we no longer have the device). So I figured we could make candles. My mother made them when I was a kid so I had at least a vague idea of what was involved, and I went online to get more specific instructions. Not having wick or weights, I made do with twine (stolen from an old kite) that I dipped in wax, and used paper clips to weight the wicks. We stripped crayons to add color, and we used ramekins and custard cups for molds. This morning they were set up but I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to unmold them, but a hot water bath in the sink loosened them. We found some gift bags for Chloe to wrap them, including one for her Papa (her maternal grandfather).

I hope this is the kid I get most days this summer. We went to church, she went to Sunday School, then I took her home with the candle gifts. Gary and I had a candlelight dinner–kind of wonky but for being made up on the spot, not bad. Next we’re thinking about making soap.

Happy Father's Day

Happy Father’s Day

 

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Seventh Summer: Sprinkles on Jello | wigginswordsandimages - June 26, 2013

Leave a Reply

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Contemporary Artist - Making your world a little brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

Sabiscuit's Catalog

I can't eat biscuits, but I have a better idea ...

Subterranean Atlas

The Art of Matt Schinner

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

