Twisted Painting

Our “Whine and Wine” group (aka “The Montevideo Posse” from our Texas Choral Consort trip to South America in 2011) did Painting with a Twist again recently. I participate mainly because it’s fun to get together with the group, eat snacks, drink wine, catch up with all our gossip, and slop paint onto a canvas. The paintings are nothing I’d put in a gallery, but each time I’ve been inspired to rework the canvas more to my liking, while keeping the basic structure of the original intact. In defense of Painting with a Twist, the idea is for non-artists to have fun while learning a little about painting. The palette is very limited–a few blobs of paint on a paper plate; you have only one size brush; and even water is rationed–at one point I asked if I could change my water and the instructor said it wasn’t necessary. Well, excuse me,  but I actually have painted for most of my life and have a degree in art, and when my brush(es) is(are) dirty and my water is the color of mud, I want to be able to have a clean brush–I often blend paint with a clean, wet brush. (During a break I sneaked back to the sink and helped myself to fresh water.)

The piece we did last time, in August, 2011, was called “Misty Wood.” Looking back at the original I realize it did do quite a bit of reworking.

Their original

Their original

 

My re-work, which I named "Haunted Wood"

My re-work, which I named “Haunted Wood”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This time I truly hated the painting. Unfortunately, I forgot to photograph it before I started painting over it, but there is a picture of our group with me almost hiding behind it, which gives you the idea.

"In the Forest," behind which I am mostly hidden (third from left)

“In the Forest,” behind which I am mostly hidden (kneeling, second from left)

Trying to decide whether to just re-use the canvas for a new painting (a pretty expensive way to buy canvas!), I decided to re-work it with a more pleasing palette, a variety of brushes and a little more time. It’s still not a great painting, but at least it’s unique and doesn’t have that great yellow glob in the sky (what is that?) and the “yellow brick road” leading up to it. (That generated some comments when some in the group posted it on Facebook.) I heard some music on the radio the other day called “Last Light,” and that inspired me to make it a true sunset, with a figure walking toward it. Divine your own meaning from that.

"Last Light"

“Last Light”

Leave a Reply

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Art - Making the world brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

Subterranean Atlas

The Art of Matt Schinner

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

Calvin Was Right

Explorations in Planners, Pens, Art and Other Obsessions

