Simplifying, Lazy or Agoraphobic?

Slowing down and simplifying have been “trending” in the past few years. (When did “trend” become a verb?) Numerous articles, books and magazines are available to help people slow down and live more simply.

Even though it may seem contradictory, despite my over-scheduled radical retirement and my more recent decision to do it if it’s something I want to do, I have always stopped to smell the roses. My phone is full of pictures of flowers, leaves, bird houses, flowing water and the like that I have snapped on walks.

417 7

 

4-17 2

4-17 1

 

 

 

417 5

 

 

 

 

 

I love going out with my granddaughter and stopping to pick rain lilies or observe a dead possum in the street.

rain lilies

rain lilies

 

 

 

Chloe was fascinated with this, so I took the photo and then called 311 for dead animal pickup

Chloe was fascinated with this, so I took the photo and then called 311 for dead animal pickup

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So I embrace the movement to slow down and simplify—without need of books and magazines.

But since my pharmaceutical and therapeutic epiphany, I am slowing and simplifying even more. I schedule fewer events. After many years of attending the Austin International Poetry Festival, I skipped this year. The third annual Mom Prom is coming up. For the first one, I wore my 15-year-old hot pink wedding dress, and soon after the party gave it, and the dyed-to-match shoes, away. Last year those women of a certain age in their 40-year-old bridesmaids’ dresses seemed pathetic with their flabby backs and silly headwear. Have I also lost my sense of whimsy? Maybe, but I’m skipping it this year (and since it’s for a cause I totally support, Planned Parenthood, I made a contribution).

My friend Lissa looks mah-velous, but my dress should have been left in the 90s. I had already ditched the shoes by then.

My friend Lissa looks mah-velous, but my dress should have been left in the 90s. I had already ditched the shoes by then.

This is my dilemma: am I slowing because I prefer savoring all that I do; because I am calmer for my family; because it reduces my stress levels not to have something scheduled nearly every day? Or am I getting lazy? I love not dashing off to an appointment or engagement unless it’s necessary or desirable. (I still go to choir practice, and I will attend a bridal shower this week for one of the women from my Montevideo “posse.” )

Another reason I go out less is the hassle of dealing with traffic, parking, and overcrowded Austin  events.

Could this be a symptom of agoraphobia? Between staying home and going out, my default is staying home. Using my granny obligations as an excuse, I skip things I might otherwise do. After I take Chloe home from church on Sundays I burrow into our nest to read the Sunday paper, watch (recorded) CBS Sunday Morning and fix a nice meal.

It may be a factor of age. A friend says we become more attached to home as we get older, and I absolutely love being at home. After a busy weekend I look forward to Monday and a perfectly ordinary day: working out, doing laundry, sweeping, writing or working on a creative project, practicing music, studying French, reading, preparing meals, maybe watching TV or a movie in the evening. If every day were like that I might get bored, but right now I am deeply happy with things as they are. I guess I’ll go with the “simple” explanation. Or accept being a little lazy, a bit agoraphobic—for now.

Leave a Reply

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Art - Making the world brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

Subterranean Atlas

The Art of Matt Schinner

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

Calvin Was Right

Explorations in Planners, Pens, Art and Other Obsessions

