Poem of the Fortnight: In Lakeview Cemetery

In memory of my brother, Tony Wiggins, who died on this date 13 years ago:

In Lakeview Cemetery

A sanctuary of trees and flowers,

burial place of James Garfield and John D. Rockefeller,

once, up high, you could see Lake Erie

before the city grew and blocked the view.

 

It is Father’s Day

Tony's grave

Tony’s grave

the day after my niece’s wedding.

Three middle-aged and two elderly women

are placing flowers from the wedding

on their men’s graves

(always the women are left behind).

Susan and Rose, the elders

tell us the stories of the graves.

I see, for the first time,

my brother’s smooth black granite stone.

Because my brother had the good sense

to marry into a large Italian family

despite our small, chilly English one

and our penchant for cremation,

I am spending my first Sunday placing flowers on graves

as these warm generous people welcome me:

the only member of my brother’s family to attend his daughter’s wedding.

 

That evening we eat pasta and drink red wine

in their favorite neighborhood restaurant:

my sister-in-law, her cousin and husband,

my nephew and his Parisian girlfriend

and I realize this is what family feels like.

Lakeview Cemetery, Cleveland, Ohio

Leave a Reply

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Contemporary Artist - Making your world a little brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

Sabiscuit's Catalog

I can't eat biscuits, but I have a better idea ...

Subterranean Atlas

The Art of Matt Schinner

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

