PRSD,* Part the Third, and Finale!

I hope it’s the Finale.

Two weeks ago, at about the time the shakes usually hit, 11 or 11:30 a.m., I somehow knew they weren’t coming that day. I had stopped drinking even decaf coffee, thinking maybe that tiny amount of caffeine was causing the jitters. Then I wondered if it was the Prozac and started drinking decaf again, with no shakes. Voilà, it must be the Prozac.

Then stomach problems kicked in, so the doctor prescribed ranitidine (Zantac), and suggested I try different dosing times, which seems to have fixed the problems. I feel like my (better) self: calm yet energetic. My granddaughter’s behavior has improved. I’m sleeping well. I’ve also noticed the OCD has abated. Previously, as soon as I got back from taking Chloe home I would tidy up the markers, silly putty and other kid clutter. Last week I looked at the mess and thought “eh.” WHAT? ME? This is an astonishing and welcome side effect (as long as I don’t turn into a complete slob, which is doubtful. I still make the bed and don’t leave dishes in the sink.)

For a fairly healthy person I take a lot of pills. I’m not diabetic, I don’t have heart problems or high blood pressure. My only chronic conditions are periodic low back problems, seasonal allergies and a wonky digestive system. Yet each day I put into my mouth at least 20 pills, including prescriptions and supplements.

If that’s what it takes, along with eating a healthful diet, exercising and getting enough sleep—what everybody knows to do but I really do—I’m ok with taking pills.

I wonder if my granddaughter is calmer because I am, or if she is just maturing. I suspect it’s a self-feeding cycle. I am grateful and hope it continues. We had what may have been our last swim on Saturday (the water was 72°, about the temperature of Austin’s iconic Barton Springs and warmer than the Pacific was in July, but still awfully chilly). But it’s warm again, so we may be back in the pool tomorrow.

Last swim of 2012?

Another joy this week was celebrating my joining the First Unitarian Universalist Church of Austin in October, 1982. I cherish that community and all it stands for and took flowers to mark the occasion.

Postings may be scant for a while. We are embarking on major redecorating, including carpet removal, painting and replacing the downstairs flooring with laminate. We’re not doing it ourselves, but it’s still a lot of work—planning, shopping, preparation, moving small furniture, knickknacks and books upstairs, taking all the pictures off the walls, packing up the china cabinet (which is bolted to the wall). The carpet comes up on November 2, and the work should be done before Thanksgiving. Oh, and I have a routine colonoscopy scheduled for November 1.

Back to the Sisyphean task of scraping our bathroom wall—28-year-old wallpaper next to a shower. Need I say more?

Endless, thankless task.

 

* Post-retirement Stress Disorder

Leave a Reply

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Contemporary Artist - Making your world a little brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

Sabiscuit's Catalog

I can't eat biscuits, but I have a better idea ...

Subterranean Atlas

The Art of Matt Schinner

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

