Poem of the Fortnight

This poem really shows the power of a critiquing group. When I took the original poem to my group I told them I really wasn’t sure what it was about. After the critique (with additional suggestions from a close poet friend who was visiting from out of town), it now seems clear it’s about how protective I am of my granddaughter. Since Lammy is lost I don’t have a picture of her, and I don’t draw too well from memory, but this is my best shot. When she is found I’ll post a photo of her. Please be on the lookout for a little chenille-legged lamb.

Lost Lamb

 

I was afraid we might lose her

on the long car ride to California.

Once at a rest stop

she almost fell out the back door

but I caught her.

 

Of all the toys that went on the trip with our granddaughter—

two bears, a unicorn, a bumblebee pillow that looks like a hippo

and the panda we brought back from the zoo—

Lammy was my favorite,

with her four floppy chenille legs,

bright black eyes

and sweet expressiveness,

answering my questions

with a nod or shake of her head.

 

She made it home safely

but when I asked for her to come and visit

my daughter told me she was lost

somewhere in their house.

How could Lammy be lost in her own house?

 

I tried to help find her

but the bedroom looks like

the back-seat archaeological site

of the car after the trip

and I had to abandon the search, the house.

 

When she is finally found

I want her to come live with me

so she’ll never be lost again.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Never Doubt the Power of Poetry « wigginswordsandimages - September 4, 2012

Leave a Reply

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Art - Making the world brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

Subterranean Atlas

The Art of Matt Schinner

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

Calvin Was Right

Explorations in Planners, Pens, Art and Other Obsessions

