Containing Myself

I am the queen of the work-around, re-use, recycle and make-it-work. This will probably not be the last post referring to the old-fashioned (and back in style) philosophy of “waste not, want not.”

I am also, as previously noted, obsessive-compulsive. I find it immensely satisfying to organize things into ever-smaller spaces. (A look at my computer desktop reveals hierarchical files of folders-in-folders-in-folders.)

So I love Sterilite and its cousins Rubbermaid and the occasional piece of  Tupperware (or a generic grocery store substitute). In addition to purchased containers, I reuse sushi trays and plastic produce boxes, especially the big clear salad boxes—they’re great for holding scarves and other small items in a dresser drawer. My undies are sorted into shoe boxes, one for panties and one for bras. I wish I could find a way to reuse egg cartons. Right now I give them to friends who have chickens (and hope to get a full one back now and then). Suggestions are welcome.

At our age it takes an entire kitchen cabinet to hold the drugs.

Instead of buying fancy pull-out cabinet inserts, I use this bin like a drawer.

Guest bathroom. Two drawers are kept empty for house guests to use.

Keeping all the junk in our bathroom relatively neat.

I love these little baskets for things like manicure supplies.

Hubby’s office: not every home has drawers full of guns, knives, wigs, fake phones and other theater props. The grandkids love to get into this one.

My paint bin.

Sewing things, thread box and bin of knitting supplies.

I love these drawers (which also roll) for various types of paper, labels and small art supplies. The tiny cedar chest on top was a gift from a local furniture store when I graduated from high school nearly 50 years ago.

Leave a Reply

ABSTRACT RECEPTION

"Explore The Possibilities"

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Contemporary Artist - Making your world a little brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

