Leaping through the Centuries

I have touched a hand that Theodore Roosevelt shook.

Several years ago a neighbor and friend in our church asked for friends to take shifts staying with her mother, who was dying of congestive heart failure and didn’t want to be alone. Born in 1898, Esther was 104.

My husband and I spent an evening with her. Although her body was failing, her mind was clear and her memory was sharp, and she kept us entertained through our visit. Her best story was this: her father was president of Augustana College, a small Lutheran college in Rock Island, Illinois. When she was a teenager, the colorful former president visited the school and was introduced to the college president’s daughter. My husband has long been fascinated by Teddy Roosevelt and listened with rapt attention, holding her right hand. She told us Roosevelt took her hand and shook it, saying “DEE-lighted to meet you, Miss Esther.” Gary was thrilled to be holding the same hand that shook the president’s, and I too touched that hand.

TR

Our most prolific president.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Speaking of links to presidents, John Tyler, born in 1790, has two living grandchildren (as of January 27).  President Tyler had a much younger second wife and 15 children, including a son born in 1853, whose sons were born in 1924 and 1928.

I was born near the middle of the 20th century, so I’m not that far removed from people who lived in the 19th. My grandmother, who lived to be 95, was born in 1879. Her wedding photo is strictly Gay ’90s; a couple of decades later she boldly sports bobbed hair. My fashion-designer neighbor mentioned previously, Mrs. Basore, was a link to the transition of fashion from Gibson Girls to flappers.

My Grandmother’s wedding, probably some time in the 1890s.

Very modern Gran a couple of decades later.

When I was in the eighth grade in 1958 I had a teacher, Glenna Post, who played the violin in the silent movies. She was in her 70s or 80s when she taught English at my junior high school—she really was old, despite the fact that teenagers think anyone over 40 is old. Even if she was only 75, she would have been born in the 1880s. I had other teachers in their 60s and 70s, so of course they were also born in the 19th century.

Mrs. Post, who played the violin in the silent movies.

My 8th grade math teacher, Mr. Storer

My 1960 high school yearbook had some historic pictures,this from 1927. Mr. Garcia (center, front row), was still teaching Spanish when I was in high school.

Not only did he teach Spanish, Rev. Garcia performed weddings, including my sister’s in 1957.

Not so long ago?

Given the longevity in my family, I have a pretty good chance of living nearly to the middle of the 21st Century, yet it would take surprisingly few leaps, if we could make them, to reach back to ancient Rome, Egypt, or even Olduvai Gorge.

Leave a Reply

ABSTRACT RECEPTION

"Explore The Possibilities"

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Contemporary Artist - Making your world a little brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

