The Bird I Dreamed

red parrot painting

The bird I dreamed.

Baggage

My mother, who died six years ago,

 drives me across a bridge.

I grab my suitcase,

roll my wheeled cart

out of the car’s back hatch.

At my destination

I open the case,

which I haven’t looked inside for several days.

Stuffed inside is a large parrot,

crimson with a deep black ring around its neck.

The bottom of the case is covered with droppings.

The bird is barely alive.

I give it water,

hand-feed it seeds and fruit

and wonder if my mother dismissed my creative feathered spirit

as I have neglected this beautiful creature.

Perched on the suitcase handle,

it spreads its wings….

This poem and painting resulted from a dream. After I wrote the poem about the dream, I used photos of parrots and photos I took of my sort-of-secret retreat along the south shore of Lady Bird Lake, doing multiple sketches in various media before deciding on acrylic paint. The experience was a breakthrough in getting me back on track with my artistic life when my granddaughter began going to school every day, freeing up two more half-days a week.

Tags: ,

One response to “The Bird I Dreamed”

  1. judy jensen says :

    Lovely poem and image, Jill–

Leave a Reply

A Madarasachap Muslim

Things you should know about Islam.

Deb Breton

Deb Breton Art - Making the world brighter, one painting at a time...

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

Yuba Gold

Art and creativity with a touch of nature

Letters & notes

A collection of poems, spoken word & cooking from Gretl Feeson as well as being an online reblog magazine of sorts.

A Young Retirement

Retired from Work, NOT Life!

Subterranean Atlas

The Art of Matt Schinner

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

You handmade me {happy}

The greatest d.i.y. project is living happily.

athousandthankyousaday

A chronicle of our family's time in Japan

DEAR DETECTIVE

VINTAGE IMAGES + RETRO EPHEMERA

Ollie On The Move

The Horizon is my Home

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

Mollie Player

Mystic. Reader. Author. Mom.

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

Calvin Was Right

Explorations in Planners, Pens, Art and Other Obsessions

